TalkTalk Help

How is my Superfast Fibre Broadband installed?

We will confirm your activation date for your fibre order and send you a new TalkTalk router.

To check your installation or activation date visit My Account.

What do I do with my new TalkTalk router?

  • You’ll receive your new TalkTalk router in the post before your go live date.
  • If you're an existing TalkTalk customer you can set this up straight away as the router will work with your current Internet connection
  • If you're a new customer you should wait for your go live date.
  • Setup is quick and easy, visit How to setup my TalkTalk Super Router for our step-by-step guide.

 

What happens on my activation day?

  • An  engineer will go to your local street cabinet and switch the line over to Fibre (the cabinet houses both the copper line from your home and the Fibre line from the exchange. The engineer connects these when activating your Fibre service, which means you’ll receive Fibre through the copper line connected to your home). This takes approximately 20 minutes and during this time there will be a disruption to your telephone/broadband service.
  • If you're a new customer, once the Fibre is live, you will need to install your TalkTalk Super Router to access the internet.
  • The switchover can happen at any point in the day, sometimes late in the evening.

 

Do I need to be at home on the day of the switchover?

  • You don't have to be home when the engineer switches you over to Fibre as all the work will be carried out at your local street cabinet.
  • In some instances, you may require an engineer to install a new phone line for your fibre service and you’ll need to be home for this. We’ll let you know if this is the case and you can book an appointment at a time that suits you.

 

Can I cancel my order before my activation date?

If you wish to cancel your Superfast Fibre Broadband order, please contact us. You'll need to do this by 1pm one working day before your activation date at the latest. If you call after this time you may incur an additional charge.

Please note: If you choose to cancel your Superfast Fibre Broadband after activation, early termination charges will apply. Find out more.

Did you find this answer helpful?


Did it save you from having to contact us?

tick

Thank you for your feedback!

Get peace of mind - stay safe online with our award-winning software, HomeSafe. To activate this free service simply login or register for My Account.

Important notice

How can we improve this answer?

Please leave your feedback below. Your comments can help us improve the information on this page.

Unfortunately we cannot respond to individual feedback. For account related enquiries Contact us.

Thank you for your feedback!